Home


  News


  Music


  About me


  Links


  Contact


  Impressum





About me





My instrument is the bass, both as a singer and as an instrumentalist.
I work as bass player, singer, band coach, choir director and music teacher.


These are my current activities:


Thomas Plath Band
The Thomas Plath Band was founded in September 2007 with the aim to perform a roughly 20-minute set in the style of Fusion Rock at the opening of the "FERMATE" exhibition by Cologne artist Sabina Flora.

The composition: "Bon Voyage Suite" emerged, was performed and then developed a life of its own.

Thus it is not only available as an Audio CD, but it will soon be heard in another vernissage as well.

Hamburg artist Marion Intzen-Schiff and I are also planning a Photo Book with an inserted DVD, on which the complete "Bon Voyage Suite" can be heard and seen as an Audio/Video montage. (See Demo Version) Lineup: Imke Pfeiffer (flute), Holger Lechterbeck (electric piano), Tobias Plath (electric guitar), Thomas Plath (electric bass), Andreas Plath (percussion), Frank Mattutat (drums).

LECHTERBECK
We play really good Soul music set to German lyrics. Holger Lechterbeck (lead vocals, keyboards) lent his name to the band. The other members are Heike Seeler (backing vocals) Isabella Rose (backing vocals) Imke Pfeiffer (flute) Christoph Ebenthal (electric guitar) Andy Plath (percussion) Frank Mattutat (drums) and of course I, Thomas Plath, am in on the act (electric bass).

JO´S AFFAIR
Jo's Affair sing a cappella. There are four of us, we being Anne Weber (Soprano), Sörin Bergmann (Alto), Holger Lechterbeck (Tenor) and I (Bass). We present an ecclectic programme. Jazz, Soul, Gospel and Film Music abound in our unique Jo's Affair sound. From Jazz Ballads via Stevie Wonder songs and hot Samba rhythms, fiery Gospel to our own self-created musical style - Criminal Music. Everything is there: Derrick, Bond, Peel and Stöver - our crime scene is the stage!

LUCKY AND THE POWERROCKETS
Here there's ROCK ´N ROLL from the 50ies to the 70ies with "Lucky" Peter Simon (vocals, guitar), Norbert Kujus (guitar, vocals), (new:) Michael Muth (drums, vocals) and with me (bass, vocals).

Choir direction (Musikschule Norderstedt)

  • Setting up and direction of the choir N-VOICES (Pop, Jazz, German Hit Songs)

    Music tuition (Musikschule Norderstedt)
  • Individual and group tuition, subject Electric Bass
  • Individual tuition, subject Pop Vocals
  • Setting up and direction of students' bands

    Additional activities at the Musikschule Norderstedt since 1997
  • N-VOICES' participation in the musical Godspell
  • Choir rehearsing of the musical ANATEVKA (Fiddler On The Roof)
  • Choir rehearsing of the operetta ORPHEUS IN DER UNTERWELT
  • Choir rehearsing at "Musical-Know-How"
  • Choir rehearsing of the musical SHOW BOAT
  • Choir rehearsing of the musical SUGAR (Some like it hot)
  • Choir rehearsing of the musical FAME
  • Vocal-Coaching at the musical FOOTLOOSE
  • Bass player in the teachers' band
  • E-Bass player in the musical-production PETER PAN,
  • HIGHSCHOOL MUSICAL, FAME and FOOTLOOSE
  • Presentations at Music School events

    Thomas Plath Band
    Thomas Plath Band (Photo: Asmus Henkel)

    Back


    This is how it all began...


    Yes, I was born! Whoever thinks that I was endowed with everything at birth is wrong, though. I, too, had to kick up quite a lot to be able to make my vocation my profession. One thing at a time, though. My native city is Bremen. That is where I joined the Bremen boys' choir U.L.F. towards the end of 1968 as Soprano and left it, due to my relocation to Schleswig-Holstein, in 1975, as Bass. Thus I owe a lot to Harald Wolf (up to 1971) and Chris Vandre´ (after)! From the spring of 1976 I was the singer and double-bass player with SUHRBROOK-FAMILY (International Folk) and entered the group EAST COAST (Latin-Rock/Jazz-Rock) in 1978. There I acted mainly as keyboarder and singer, occasionally also as bass player and composer. We had a lot of fun and even scooped various awards in Schleswig-Holstein and Denmark.

    That came to an end in 1983. Not my delight in music, though! I moved to Hamburg and left both groups. At this point I really wanted to gather some more detailed knowledge and I started to study:

    1983 and 1984 Studiengang Populäre Musik (Degree Programme Popular Music) at the Jugendmusikschule Hamburg (Youth Music School). Tutored by:

  • Thomas Arp (Timing/Rhythmics/Study of Metre)
  • Sigrid Meyer / Billie Myer (Pop Vocal)
  • Michael Hagel (Keyboards 1983)
  • Stefan Will (Keyboards 1984)
  • Jörn Heilbutt (Arrangement)

    1983 and 1984 Seminar "Spielraum". Tutored by:

  • Reiner Schnelle (Piano 1983)
  • Thomas Bettermann (Piano 1983)
  • Klaus-Robert Kruse (Piano 1983)
  • Jane Comerford (Pop Vocal 1984)

    1985 3rd International Jazz Workshop in Tübingen. Tutored by:

  • Rufus Reid (Bass)
  • Mike Stern (Guitar)
  • Rachel Gould (Jazz Vocal)
  • Bill Dobbins (Jazz Arrangement)
  • Heinz Czadeck (Jazz Arrangement)
  • Ed Kröger (Ensemble Playing)

    Now let's go, I thought then, now put it all to work! And what is the best way to start after studying music? Exactly, founding a band. That's what I did in 1985, together with Beate Kynast, by founding the Vocal Quartet THE POPS. Two years later, the band was reshuffled a little and then renamed JOSEPHINE´S GARDEN. The main focus remained the a cappella singing, but there were also collaborations with the BUGGY-BRAUNE-TRIO and with JENS FISCHER. In addition, JOSEPHINE´S GARDEN was booked for advertising jingles, the title song for an animation series and as background choir for Pop productions, as well as a didactic concert series at schools ("From Monophony to Polyphony - Palestrina's Path"). In the meantime, after the autumn of 1986, I worked as a private vocals teacher at the same time. After seven years, we broke up the group JOSEPHINE´S GARDEN.

    You live and learn, though. In 1987, I started studies at the Musikwissenschaftliches Institut Hamburg (Institute of Musicology Hamburg) with the main subjects being Systematic Musicology and Musical Acoustics. In addition, I was auditor at the Hochschule für Musik und Theater (Academy for Music and Theatre) with Dieter Glawischnig (Jazz Arrangement) and Wolfgang Schlüter (Jazz Rhythmics). By the end of 1989, I ended my studies. In 1990, my three-year tution with Inge Graw (Classical Vocals) began. Meanwhile I was, in 1991, at Groove-House (a private music school) teaching Pop Vocals. Afterwards, in 1994 to be exact, I took on the direction of the children's choir of the church in Hamburg-Moorburg. At the same time, my collaboration with the South African group DUBE based in Hamburg began. A year later, in 1995, I entered the group B-75 (Rhythm & Blues) and in 1996 the group JOSIE (a Peter Maffay tribute band). With both groups, I was e-bass player. In that year I took on - until the year 2000 - the direction of the Multikultureller Chor of the Volkshochschule Hamburg-Mitte (multicultural choir of the adult education centre Midtown Hamburg).

    After 1997, I then found myself working back in Schleswig-Holstein. I joined the Musikschule Norderstedt as teacher for Pop Music in the sectors Choir Direction (founding of N-Voices) and Vocals as well as Band Tuition. I also remained loyal to my adoptive home, Hamburg, and joined no less than two groups in 1998. Firstly, the a cappella group JO´S AFFAIR as Bass singer and secondly the band LECHTERBECK (Soul with German lyrics) as e-bass player. These two projects have, in fact, members in common. But in other projects there was a lot to do as well. Thus in 1999 I had performances of the children's musical "David und Jonathan" as a collaboration of the children's choirs of Hamburg-Moorburg and Hamburg-Finkenwerder, the Moorburg children's choir being broken up a year after, however. In the same year, another very nice collaboration took place - with Eva Gronemann, Cantor at St. Nikolai in Finkenwerder at that time. We directed the Gospel Choir "Shout For Joy". As nice was also the collaboration with South African Artist Lebo Masemola of the "Gobina Chor Projekt". In the year 2000, I was assigned the one-year commissarial direction of the Finkenwerder Gospel Choir. In the same year, I left the band B-75, but became a member of the newly founded band POPSTAR. A Britpop cover band at first, later on with more and more original compositions (German lyrics).

    It takes almost alarmingly long to scroll down to this point of my vita, but that only means that I am far from wanting to take a rest and so I then completed the first extra-occupational course of studies "Pop music at the music school" from September 22nd, 2003 to February 23rd, 2005 with a successfully passed exam. The course of studies was sponsored and operated by:

  • Bundesakademie für musikalische Jugendbildung Trossingen (Federal Academy for Musical Youth Education Trossingen)
  • Verband deutscher Musikschulen (German Music Schools' Association)
  • Popakademie Baden-Württemberg (Pop Academy Baden-Württemberg)
  • Jazz & Rock Schule Freiburg (Jazz & Rock School Freiburg)



    Back

Startseite


  Aktuell


  Musik


  Zur Person


  Links


  Kontakt


  Impressum





Zur Person





Mein Instrument ist der Bass, sowohl stimmlich als auch instrumental.

Ich arbeite als Bassist, Sänger, Band Coach, Chorleiter und Musikpädagoge.


Das mache ich jetzt


Thomas Plath Band
Die Thomas Plath Band wurde im September 2007 gegründet mit dem Ziel, auf der Vernissage zur Ausstellung: "FERMATE" der Kölner Malerin Sabina Flora eine ca. 20-minütige Suite im Fusion Rock Style aufzuführen.

Die Komposition: "Bon Voyage Suite" entstand, wurde aufgeführt und entwickelte danach ein Eigenleben.

So liegt sie jetzt nicht nur als Audio CD vor, sondern wird demnächst auch in einer weiteren Vernissage zu hören sein.

Die Hamburger Künstlerin Marion Intzen-Schiff und ich planen außerdem ein Foto-Buch mit eingelegter DVD, auf welcher die komplette "Bon Voyage Suite" als Ton/Bild-Montage zu hören und zu sehen ist. (Siehe Demo Version) Besetzung: Imke Pfeiffer (Flute), Holger Lechterbeck (Electric Piano), Tobias Plath (Electric Guitar), Thomas Plath (Electric Bass), Andreas Plath (Percussion), Frank Mattutat (Drums).

LECHTERBECK
Wir spielen richtig guten Soul unterlegt mit deutschen Texten. Holger Lechterbeck (Lead Vocals, Keyboards) gab der Band seinen Namen. Mit dabei sind außerdem Heike Seeler (Backing Vocals) Isabella Rose (Backing Vocals) Imke Pfeiffer (Flute) Christoph Ebenthal (E-Guitar) Andy Plath (Percussion) Frank Mattutat (Drums) und natürlich bin ich, Thomas Plath, auch dabei (E-Bass).

JO´S AFFAIR
Jo's affair singt A-cappella. Wir sind zu viert, bestehend aus Anne Weber (Sopran), Sörin Bergmann (Alt), Holger Lechterbeck (Tenor) und mir (Bass). Wir bieten ein abwechslungsreiches Programm. Jazz, Soul, Gospel und Film-Musik hört man in unserem unverkennbaren jo's-affair-Sound. Von Jazz-Balladen über Stevie-Wonder-Songs und heißen Samba-Rhythmen, feurigem Gospel bis hin zu unserem eigens entwickelten Musikstil: der Kriminalmusik. Alles ist dabei: Derrick, Bond, Peel und Stöver - unser Tatort ist die Bühne!

LUCKY AND THE POWERROCKETS
Hier gibt es ROCK ´N ROLL der 50er bis 70er Jahre mit "Lucky" Peter Simon (voc, guitar), Norbert Kujus (guitar, voc), (Neu:) Michael Muth (drums, voc)und mit mir (bass, voc).

Chorleitung (Musikschule Norderstedt)

  • Aufbau und Leitung des Chores N-VOICES (Pop, Jazz, Schlager)

    Musikunterricht (Musikschule Norderstedt)
  • Einzel- und Gruppenunterricht im Fach E-Bass
  • Einzelunterricht im Fach Pop-Gesang
  • Aufbau und Leitung von Schülerbands

    Weitere Tätigkeiten in der Musikschule Norderstedt seit 1997
  • Beteiligung von N-VOICES an dem Musical Godspell
  • Chor-Einstudierung für das Musical ANATEVKA (Fiddler On The Roof)
  • Chor-Einstudierung für die Operette ORPHEUS IN DER UNTERWELT
  • Chor-Einstudierung beim "Musical-Know-How"
  • Chor-Einstudierung für das Musical SHOW BOAT
  • Chor-Einstudierung für das Musical SUGAR (Manche mögen´s heiß)
  • Chor-Einstudierung für das Musical FAME
  • Vocal-Coaching für das Musical FOOTLOOSE
  • E-Bassist in der Lehrer-Band
  • E-Bassist bei den Musical-Produktionen PETER PAN,
  • HIGHSCHOOL MUSICAL, FAME und FOOTLOOSE
  • Moderationen bei Musikschulveranstaltungen
  • Moderationen bei Musikschulveranstaltungen

    Thomas Plath Band
    Thomas Plath Band (Foto: Asmus Henkel)

    Zurück


    Es fing alles damit an...


    Ja, ich wurde geboren! Wer aber glaubt, dass ich alles in die Wiege gelegt bekommen habe, der irrt. Einiges musste auch ich anstellen, um meine Berufung zum Beruf machen zu können.

    Aber der Reihe nach. Meine Geburtstadt ist Bremen. Dort fing ich Ende 1968 als Sopranstimme in dem Bremer Knabenchor U.L.F. an und verließ ihn 1975, wegen Umzugs nach Schleswig-Holstein, als Bassstimme. Viel zu verdanken habe ich daher Harald Wolf (bis 1971) und danach Chris Vandre´! Ab Frühjahr 1976 war ich Sänger und Kontrabassist in der SUHRBROOK-FAMILY (Internationale Folklore) und trat 1978 in die Gruppe EAST COAST ein (Latin-Rock/Jazz-Rock). Dort war ich hauptsächlich als Keyboarder und Sänger, gelegentlich auch als E-Bassist und Komponist tätig. Wir hatten viel Spaß und holten uns sogar diverse Preise in Schleswig-Holstein und Dänemark.

    Das endete 1983. Aber nicht etwa der Spaß an der Musik! Ich zog nach Hamburg und verließ beide Gruppen. Jetzt wollte ich es allerdings genauer wissen und fing an zu studieren:

    1983 und 1984 Studiengang Populäre Musik an der Jugendmusikschule Hamburg. Unterrichtet von:

  • Thomas Arp (Timing/Rhythmik/Metrik)
  • Sigrid Meyer bzw. Billie Myer (Pop-Gesang)
  • Michael Hagel (Keyboard 1983)
  • Stefan Will (Keyboard 1984)
  • Jörn Heilbutt (Arrangement)

    1983 und 1984 Seminar "Spielraum". Unterrichtet von:

  • Reiner Schnelle (Klavier 1983)
  • Thomas Bettermann (Klavier 1983)
  • Klaus-Robert Kruse (Klavier 1983)
  • Jane Comerford (Pop-Gesang 1984)

    1985 3rd International Jazz-Workshop in Tübingen. Unterrichtet von:

  • Rufus Reid (Bass)
  • Mike Stern (Gitarre)
  • Rachel Gould (Jazz-Gesang)
  • Bill Dobbins (Jazz-Arrangement)
  • Heinz Czadeck (Jazz-Arrangement)
  • Ed Kröger (Ensemble-Spiel)

    Jetzt aber los, dachte ich damals, mach´ was daraus! Und wie fängt man am besten an, wenn man Musik studiert hat? Richtig, man gründet eine Band. Das tat ich 1985, zusammen mit Beate Kynast, mit der Gründung des Vokal-Quartetts THE POPS. Zwei Jahre später wurde sie ein wenig umbesetzt und hieß ab dann JOSEPHINE´S GARDEN. Schwerpunkt blieb der A-cappella-Gesang, es gab aber auch gemeinsame Projekte mit dem BUGGY-BRAUNE-TRIO und mit JENS FISCHER. Außerdem wurde JOSEPHINE´S GARDEN für Werbe-Jingles, die Titelmelodie für eine Zeichentrick-Serie und als Background-Chor für Schlager-Produktionen, sowie für eine Lehrkonzertreihe an Schulen ("Von der Einstimmigkeit zur Mehrstimmigkeit - Der Weg Palestrinas") gebucht. Dazwischen, ab Herbst 1986, war ich auch noch als freier Gesangslehrer tätig. Nach sieben Jahren lösten wir die Gruppe JOSEPHINE´S GARDEN auf.

    Doch man lernt nie aus. 1987 begann ich ein Studium am Musikwissenschaftlichen Institut Hamburg mit den Schwerpunkten Systematische Musikwissenschaft und musikalische Akustik. Außerdem war ich als Gasthörer an der Hochschule für Musik und Theater bei Dieter Glawischnig (Jazz-Arrangement) und Wolfgang Schlüter (Jazz-Rhythmik). Ende 1989 beendete ich das Studium. 1990 begann mein dreijähriger Unterricht bei Inge Graw (Klassik-Gesang). Währenddessen war ich 1991 als Pop-Gesangslehrer im Groove-House (private Musikschule) tätig. Danach, genauer 1994, übernahm ich die Leitung des Kinderchores der Kirche in Hamburg-Moorburg. Zur gleichen Zeit begann meine Zusammenarbeit mit der südafrikanischen Gruppe DUBE, die in Hamburg ansässig ist. Ein Jahr später, 1995, trat ich in die Gruppe B-75 (Rhythm & Blues) und 1996 in die Gruppe JOSIE (Maffay-Coverband) ein. In beiden Gruppen war ich E-Bassist. In diesem Jahr übernahm ich - bis ins Jahr 2000 - die Leitung des Multikulturellen Chores der Volkshochschule Hamburg-Mitte.

    Und ab 1997 verschlug es mich arbeitsseitig wieder nach Schleswig-Holstein. Ich trat als Lehrkraft für Popmusik in den Bereichen Chorleitung (Gründung von N-Voices) und Gesang sowie Bandarbeit in die Musikschule Norderstedt ein. Ich blieb natürlich auch meiner Wahlheimat Hamburg treu und trat 1998 gleich zwei Gruppen bei. Zum einen der A-cappella-Gruppe JO´S AFFAIR als Basssänger sowie der Band LECHTERBECK (Soul/dt.Texte) als E-Bassist. Dabei handelt es sich um zwei personell zusammenhängende Projekte. Aber auch in anderen Projekten gab es genug zu tun. So hatte ich 1999 Aufführungen des Kindermusicals David und Jonathan als gemeinsames Projekt der Kinderchöre HH-Moorburg und HH-Finkenwerder, wobei der Moorburger Kinderchor bereits ein Jahr später wieder aufgelöst wurde. Es gab in diesem Jahr noch eine schöne Zusammenarbeit mit Eva Gronemann, der damaligen Kantorin in St. Nikolai zu Finkenwerder. Wir leiteten den Gospelchor "Shout For Joy". Ebenso schön war auch die Zusammenarbeit mit der südafrikanischen Künstlerin Lebo Masemola vom "Gobina Chor Projekt". Im Jahr 2000 erhielt ich die einjährige kommissarische Leitung des Finkenwerder Gospel-Chores. Im selben Jahr verließ ich die Band B-75, wurde aber Mitglied der neu gegründeten Band POPSTAR. Zunächst eine Britpop-Coverband, später mit zunehmend eigenen Kompositionen (dt.Texte).

    Fast erschreckend lange muss man nun schon bis zu dieser Stelle des Lebenslaufs scrollen, aber das bedeutet ja auch, dass ich mich noch längst nicht ausruhen möchte und so schloss ich nun den 1. berufsbegleitenden Lehrgang: "Popmusik an der Musikschule" vom 22. September 2003 bis zum 23. Februar 2005 mit erfolgreich bestandener Prüfung ab. Der Lehrgang wurde getragen und durchgeführt von:

  • Bundesakademie für musikalische Jugendbildung Trossingen
  • Verband deutscher Musikschulen
  • Popakademie Baden-Württemberg
  • Jazz & Rock Schule Freiburg



    Zurück